My sister is a fantastic cook. Now. This was not always the case. For awhile, I thought this would be a better use of her kitchen:

Back then, I distinctly remember a time when she asked for, and received, a creme brulee torch for her birthday. I’m fairly certain it never came out of the box.

I’m not judging (I wouldn’t have the first clue what to do with a creme brulee torch), but I’m often amazed by the gadgetry that people register for. If you decide to gift such a curious device, a cheeky twist is to include a restaurant gift card, for the nights they don’t feel like whipping out the [insert fancy appliance here].

  Persephone

(Hand-Hammered Copper Couscoussier from Williams-Sonoma + gift card from Persephone)

(Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Automatic Ice Cream Maker from Amazon + gift card to Jeni’s)

 

(Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan from Williams-Sonoma + gift card for breakfast at the Ritz)

Would you be offended if someone paired a restaurant gift card with a kitchen appliance? Or would you appreciate the opportunity to treat yourself?

